A Suprise Transaction


Hi all

So on tuesday night after I’d sorted my auctions and materials ready for the release of patch 4.3 on Wednesday, and finished levelling a few alts for the night. I was sat sorting my mail and moving and few items between a few characters and watching the trade chat fly by.

All the usual stuff was flying about in trade chat, WTB or WTS this and that, Chuck norris jokes and anal spam. I was just logging off to switch to my paladin as I was going to work on his Engineering a little, when I saw something that caught my eye. So I quickly noted down the name of the seller and logged on to my paladin.

What was it that you saw I can hear you all thinking ! Well what I saw advertised was a level 15 guild with 7 tabs. Now normally I wouldn’t bat an eyelid at guilds for sale as I have quite a fair bit of personal storage already. But something about this perked my interest. Maybe it was the fact it was level 15 or the guild name I’m not quite sure, but something did.

So I got in contact with the guild leader, and proceeded to enquire about the guild and why it was for sale, and the general state of the guild. After a bit of back and forth it became apparent they where 148 members the guild was level 15 and three quarters of the way to 16, it had a good spread of characters, and no one wanted to step up to leadership. He was looking for 45k in gold for it all.

So I asked for one of my lowest level alts to be invited to the guild so I could have a poke around in the roster and look over the guild bank information and what was included. At the same time I opened my friend list and fired up a second computer, I fired off a few whispers to other players who I know asking their opinions on this guild. While searching round battle.net looking up some of the higher ranked players in the guild and about the guild in general. I also DM’ed a few people on twitter and would just like to say thank you to @cold of Coldsgoldfactory for his help and opinions on the matter.

So after some looking around and a bit or research, we got round to talking figures. I had worked out that in the guild banks there was between 15k – 20k gold in items that could be useful to sell either as materials or items on the auction house without emptying everything. The guild also was creating a passive income of around 1k in gold a week from the Cash Flow rank 1 guild perk.

So having all this information I opened up with a offer of 30 k in gold, for everything. After a small pause this was refused and was countered with a offer of 20k gold for the guild leadership without anything in the guild banks. I quickly relied “no thanks” then offered him 33k in gold for the guild all in. After I offered this there was a long pause, without a reply. I knew at this stage he was thinking about it, so I said I was going AFK for 5.

When I come back I had a whisper saying if I was willing to offer a little bit more I could have the lot. So doing the calculations in my head I thought minimum 15k gold of materials in the guild bank, aswell as a couple of thousand gold already in the guild bank. Plus a steady passive income of one thousand gold a week from the guild perk. Having taken all the details in hand I offered 35k gold and said this was my final offer, and I was happy to walk away at that. After a good 5 minutes he whispered me again saying he was happy at that price and was on his way to me to trade for the gold and pass me the leadership.

So there you have it, the guild I have bought is called Proud Raiders and is on Dragonblight EU, I have spoken to a few of members that have been online so far and am currently getting a feel of the players in there. After buying this guild this left me with a total of 342541g 76s 79c in liquid gold but I think this will turn out to be a good purchase over time.

So what you the readers think is this a good business decision or just a expensive storage space ?

Epidermuss

,

  1. #1 by Billyj on 07/12/2011 - 4:31 pm

    Not a bad idea. But if you want to maximize the amount of gold you get from the guild
    perks make sure that your guild
    is raiding and Doug guild dungeons. Not only will this reward the bonus guild exp for the challenges. But they will also be looting more mobs which in turn means more gold for
    you.

    • #2 by wragstoriches on 07/12/2011 - 6:09 pm

      Hi thanks for the reply.

      This is something I plan to do currently I have been a bit engrossed with the auction house though 🙂

  2. #3 by Driss on 22/12/2011 - 4:52 pm

    Congratulations on the transaction. I think it was a very smart business decision. I managed to buy a deserted lvl 25 guild for 135k primarily as a storage for my alts but I also wanted to have all the perks as they are crafters. I also plan to recruit levelling characters to provide passive income from Cash Flow. I believe it’s an excellent opportunity and yours even more as you already

    • #4 by Driss on 22/12/2011 - 4:55 pm

      *already have active players. //sorry for the cut but that’s what happens while posting on mobile phone.

  1. The Next Steps Patch 4.3 Week 1 « Wragstoriches
  2. The Next Steps Patch 4.3 Week 1 | Snatch WoW
  3. The Guild, Lessons and the Future | Snatch WoW
  4. Profit and Loss WC 15/02/12 to 25/02/12 « Wragstoriches
  5. Profit and Loss WC 15/02/12 to 21/02/12 | Snatch WoW

Leave a Reply

