A new year, New Goals in 2012


Hi all

So 2011 has come and gone  and overall I was pleased with how it went. For me it was a learning curve on how I blog and write, aswell as how I use my strategies to earn gold in World of Warcraft. After reviewing the way it went, from my starter posts, to some of my most popular posts, to the not so popular. I have gained a greater understanding of the way I write and the limitations I have. My main aim on the writing front is to not only continue writing my blog but to become more consistent, in style, content, and output. The consistency of when posts were published was something I struggled with at times and is something I really want to work on throughout the year.

On the World of Warcraft side of things my main gold making aim was to break through the 250k in liquid gold barrier while still playing PVE or PVP content, rather than sit at the auction house. I managed this and almost managed to double my target. My other goal was to max all the available professions, and I nearly managed that too, I currently need to gain 3 levels on my mage so I can get the final 75 points in tailoring and my engineering is 340/375 and I am currently collecting the materials to continue on with this too.

Blogging Goals

After reviewing and evaluating this last year I decided to set myself some goals for this year, the first of my goals is Blog related.

> To write 120 posts.

This works out to a post just over every three days. If I manage this it will greatly help my search for consistency.

In-game Goals

On the World of Warcraft side of things I have a few goals too, some of these are gold related and some are general goals I’d like to work on.

> Reach the gold cap of 1,000,000 gold.

> Obtain max levels in all professions.

> Kill the final boss of the expansion.

> Level a healer to 85 and experience cataclysm content.

> Work on some achievements for my druid. (Darkmoon faire, Reputations)

> Level some of my characters on other realms rather than my main.

Of all these goals listed you will notice none are to time specific. If we take the first goal I am currently a little under half way there already. So that would mean I need to make 500,000 then divide it by the weeks in a year which is fifty-two, and I need to make just under 10,000 gold a week to reach my goal. I prefer to stick to steady targets like this rather than feel pressured in to something like making 500,000 in five weeks which equates to 100,000 per week, thus allowing me to take part and enjoy other aspects to the game.

My second goal is a matter of time and levelling, my mage who I have tailoring on is currently level 74 and I have been picking up Embersilk cloth when its cheap ready to get the last 75 points I need to maximise my tailoring. As for my engineer who is my paladin, he is currently in his fifty’s and gaining rested XP for the push to outlands. He is currently 340/375 and picking up materials when they run cheap to level some more.

Of my other goals, achievements on my druid are what I’d like to complete. When I first levelled my druid I run him primarily through the dungeons finder and didn’t experience much else with him, one of the achievements I’d like to get is the Loremaster achievement so I may take him back and do that, while doing that I will complete others like the exploring and reputation achievements. I would also like to try the new Looking for raid feature on my druid to down the current expansions end boss.

On the alt front most of my characters are melee DPS or tanks so one thing I’d like to do is get my Dwarf Shaman who I am using as a healer up to level cap. I think it’s always interesting to see content from all different points of view. Running the new five man instances is a completely different experience on my Survival hunter to my fury/prot spec Warrior or Feral druid tank. I would also like to level up some of my alts that I have dotted around on different servers.

Those are just some of the main things I’d like to achieve this year. Do you have any goals you’d like to achieve what’s your main aim before Mists of Pandaria hit ?

Epidermuss

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jim Younkin on 12/01/2012 - 9:26 am

    Great post Epi. 2011 was quite a year. For us both it was a year of beginnings. Of learning and seeing what stuck and what didn’t. For me 2012 will be a year of refinement and consistency. I’m really going to be taking blogging seriously not as just a past time but as a possible career.

    I love people who write with passion and love. You have those in spades and I hope 2012 brings you lots of enjoyment as you work towards 120 posts.

    • #2 by wragstoriches on 12/01/2012 - 6:04 pm

      Hi flux

      Thanks for your praise and encouragement, its means a lot to me.

      2011 was a year of learning and understanding, 2012 has just begun and who knows where it may lead. Where ever it leads I’m sure the journey will be a great one.

      Epidermuss

  2. #3 by Billyj on 13/01/2012 - 11:26 pm

    I look forward to reading new posts from you every 3 days and hearing about your guild project as well. Those are some excellent goals for gold making as well.

    • #4 by wragstoriches on 14/01/2012 - 7:59 am

      Hi Billyj

      I’m glad your enjoying the blog and hope you continue to do so, I have a post drafted about the guild so far but I’m not happy with it just yet.

      Epidermuss

  1. World Of Warcraft – Hunter Shaman Druid pvp arena team

Leave a Reply

