Remote Auction House, Your Experiences Wanted


Hi all

Today I’m going to do something a little bit different. For a good three months now I have watched on twitter or listened to pod casts to people talk or discuss the virtues of the remote auction house and how good it is. Up until now I haven’t really thought about it to much or had a device that’s capable of using the app, as I use a Blackeberry as my phone and my I pod is just a plain old original one. I know you can pay and use your desktop but if I can use my desktop or laptop I have access to World of Warcraft anyway. So before we go any further we’ll have a quick look at what the remote auction is.

Remote Auction House

The remote auction house is a additional service offered by Blizzard Entertainment to gain access to the auction house in World Of Warcraft through a small fee. Each billing cycle lasts for 30 days, and is an additional fee to your game time subscription. The fee to access this service is currently £2.49 in pound stirling or €2.99 in the Euro zone, with I presume a similar fee in US dollars for North American realms. For this small fee you can gain access to the auction houses in World of Warcraft and either bid, buyout, or create auctions. There is however a limit to how many auctions you can bid, buyout, or create everyday and this is set at 200 transactions, which in effect offers you the chance to make 6000 transactions per billing cycle. One of the major benefits of this app is aswell as the access it provides the character you have currently chosen to do any transactions doesn’t need to be in a city.

As well as access to the World of Warcraft auction house with this service you also get access to the remote guild chat feature, where you are able to keep in touch with guildies remotely using either guild chat, officer chat, or whispers. So for instance your due to be raiding, or doing rated BG’s with you team. Your on your way back from work/college but are stuck in traffic or running slightly late, you can then use the application to log in to chat and let your raid/rated BG team your running late. Rather than them being stuck waiting around not knowing where you are, or if your coming.

This service is currently only available on phone, i pod touch, or android devices, which although a large portion of World of Warcraft users may have access too, is not everyone. Blizzard do state they are looking at adding additional support to other devices ie Blackberry, windows phones but there is no time frame to it.

Where you come in

So after hearing lots of good things about the remote auction house and the fact my current phone contract is coming to a end. I have been looking at the various new models of phone and weighing up the pro’s and cons of each one, be they Blackberry, Android, or i OS devices. Having decided I would like to try out the remote auction house service it narrows down my choice to a phone or android device.

So given this I thought now would be a good chance to gauge the opinions of you the reader and wider audience what you think of the World of Warcraft Remote Auction House App. I would like to know what you find great about using it, what you don’t like about it, what improvements you think you’d like to see. Any glitches or ways the app doesn’t quite work right and your general opinions on it. So please leave you opinions in the comments section making sure to note what type of device you use, and share with your in-game friends or twitter followers so I can get a wide variety of people opinions and thoughts

Epidermuss

, , ,

  1. #1 by Cold on 18/02/2012 - 4:36 pm

    Hey bud! The upcoming Auction House Junkies episode #25 is all about the remote auction house as well. We discussed this very issue as Wes used to use the app on a droid and now he uses iPhone, as do both Mike and I.

    Wes had complaints about the android app mainly bc it didn’t sync up the remote ah ap with the mobile authenticator. So there was a lot of re-entering your authenticator code over and over when that shouldn’t be an issue. It’s not on iPhone.

    The android may have been updated since but no one knows as we are all iPhone users.

    • #2 by wragstoriches on 18/02/2012 - 4:45 pm

      Hi bud

      Thanks for that info, will look for the episode on my itunes feed.

      Do we have to poke Wes a few times to get the episode uploaded 🙂

      Epidermuss

  2. #3 by Computer Repair North Wales on 14/03/2012 - 11:00 am

    I love reading a post that will make men and
    women think. Also, thank you for allowing for me to comment!

  3. #4 by Kimberly on 07/04/2012 - 9:10 pm

    I use the remote ah on my iPhone and I think it is definitely worth the $3. I like that my authenticator syncs up automatically with it so there is no fussing with codes. I use it to keep up with undercutting and to keep an eye out for cheap ore. I can’t count the times I have scored ore and herbs at ridiculously cheap prices while waiting on my daughters to get out of ballet. I even use it at home for mass purchases.

    It works really well, and I have not encountered any bugs. One great thing about it and another reason I sometimes use it at home is that you can create listings for things that are in the bank with no need to shuffle between the bank and AH. It’s all available. HTH!

Leave a Reply

